Lent, eh?

Why not try it for once, we thought? Kyra, Rick and I decided to challenge ourselves after Karneval’s excesses left us with a hankering for healthier living. None of us are particularly religious, but choosing to abstain from some substances seemed like the thing to do at the time. Zoe, Kyra’s roommate, was also on board and we three ladies decided to avoid all sweets for forty days. Rick’s chosen vices were coffee and French fries, as he miraculously lacks a sweet tooth.

It’s simple. An item should be 1) unhealthy and 2) difficult to abstain from for it to count for our Lenten “fasting”. The following sweets, therefore, are forbidden:

-candies
-chocolate
-ice cream
-cakes
-cookies and sugary items of that ilk

While Kyra and Zoe are allotting themselves an “exception day” each week, I think I’ll give it a go the hardcore way. Test my willpower. Discipline myself. Mind over body.

And anyways, dates and other scrumptious fruits aren’t technically sweets, right?

3 thoughts on “Lent, eh?

  1. Last week, my curiosity led me to investigate the etymology of the term ‘ilk’.
    Turns out that its use as a synonym of type, kind and sort is entirely erroneous. The first documented uses, from the mid 8th century, give it a meaning of ‘same’, as in that which was previously mentioned.
    e.g. “I bought a guava on Friday and ate it that ilk day”
    This use is, of course, archaic.
    But I suppose, since your intended meaning has been in use for over 200 years, I can let it slide.

Leave a Reply

