I’m alive! I swear!

My, my how time does fly. Only five more months of this Fulbright grant to go, and I haven’t quite solidified the time frame for my plans for after June. I’d like to stay in Europe until approximately the end of August/sometime in September and then…well…if all goes right with the world I’ll be flying to Cambodia!

(Heh, your look of confusion amuses me)…Hang on a sec, you say. Germany…Cambodia…where is the connection?

Remember Ramon Stoppelenburg? (…This crazy Dutch guy, who I’m hoping wont mind if I borrow his picture to share with you…)

Apparently a great deal of fun in life comes back to Couchsurfing in the end (he was my very first CS host..awww), because I’ve nearly finished a 9,000 word translation of his website www.expeditionkilimanjaro.com that will allow him to better cater to all the German-speaking hiking fanatics in the world. It’s fun work, though considerably more difficult translating from English to German as opposed to the other way around, and I’ve enlisted the help of some friends in Gießen to keep their eyes on my progress and make sure I mean what I say and I say what I mean.

Still not following the Cambodia connection? Ok. Here goes. Ramon moved there in August of 2010 from Amsterdam and currently lives in Phnom Penh, the country’s bustling capitol. Given the flexibility of my current work/travel/life situation, Ramon and I agreed upon a somewhat non-traditional payment option and he is rewarding my help with an experience: a round-trip plane ticket (at any time, from anywhere in Europe, specifically) to and from Cambodia. Voilà.

Not only does this provide me with an excellent opportunity to travel a new continent (culture shock, I seriously can’t wait!), but I’m looking forward to the couple of months I’ll be able to spend further developing my game plan for life.

Not a bad deal, eh?

 

 

 

 

 

 

*Ok fo realz, I’m freakin out. In a good way, of course. AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!*

Leave a Reply

