Here I Go Again…

Righto, off I go on another blog-worthy adventure in Germany.  For those of you who are unaware, I previously studied abroad in Bonn, Germany for five months and kept this blog, primarily as a memento for when I am old and vaguely senile.  This time around, I decided to do approximately the same thing, with approximately the same name (lack of creativity overtook me), so that you, dear reader, could live vicariously through my mishaps and meanderings.  I welcome comments, but would ask that you keep them appropriate for *ahem* all potential family members/members of the general public whom I wish to impress and who may or may not be viewing this blog simultaneously.

Perhaps you’re wondering what sort of web I’ve gotten myself tangled in this time?   Right, well, before I write anything else, it’s time for (oh, goody!) a disclaimer…*cue foreboding music*.

This blog is not an official Department of State website or blog, and my views and the information presented on this blog and through the links contained in this blog are my own and do not represent the Fulbright Program or the U.S. Department of State.

Now, that being said, I do hope to give you all some insight into the next ten months of my life, which will be primarily spent teaching English in Laubach, about an hour’s drive north of Frankfurt in the central German state of Hesse.   I have been assigned to the Friedrich-Magnus-Gesamtschule, which includes students in the approximate American equivalent of 5th through 10th grade.  My contract stipulates that I am to be an assistant teacher for 12 hours per week, for which I receive 800€ per month plus health insurance.  I’ll be leaving this Sunday, August 22nd, and am contracted from September 9th, 2010 until June 24th, 2011.

For peace of mind and relaxation, I’ve decided to fly back a bit early and visit friends in Bonn before the Fulbright program orientation in Cologne from September 6th – 9th.  I’ll be staying with Patrik, my “Bonn Buddy” from the semester abroad, who I’m sure is thrilled to be able to witness what a mess I am during the lovely stages of jet lag.  Between August 22nd and September 6th, I’ll have the chance to visit Laubach and ‘get my affairs in order’, a.k.a. sign a one month contract for a room in student housing, purchase a cell phone contract, open a bank account, etc.  All very mundane things, all best done once the muffled gray of jet lag has passed!

More to come over the next few days, so keep an eye out for updates.  Thanks for joining me on my next adventure!

2 thoughts on “Here I Go Again…

  1. Hey, I know this is a bit weird, but I was just typing search terms into wordpress and found your blog… and it looks like we’re doing the same thing! I’ll be teaching in Bingen am Rhein, also about an hour from Frankfurt, albeit in a different direction. Thought I’d say hello, and maybe I’ll see you in Koeln!

    -Lori

    1. Excellent! I just took a look at your blog too 🙂 It’ll be nice to have another teaching assistant in Hessen…and I’ll definitely keep my eye out for you in Köln!

Leave a Reply

